How Many States Are There in the United States?

The United State of America consists of 50 states and a Federal District which is Washington, D.C, which also serves as the capital of the USA. It has severally been said and believes by American people that the Flag of USA has 50 stars representing each state in USA.

Besides the 50 States and Federal district in United State, United States also has sovereignty over 14 territories. Five out of these 14 (American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) have a permanent, nonmilitary population, while the remaining  nine of them (the United States Minor Outlying Islands) do not. Apart from Navassa Island, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, which are situated in the Caribbean, all other territories are situated in the Pacific Ocean.


Based on the location, 48 neighboring States in United States and Washington DC are in the Central North between Canada and Mexico. The state of Alaska is in the Northwestern part of North America (which also bordering Canada) and the state of Hawaii is in the mid-Pacific. There are other territories which are scattered about the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea.


The most populous state in United States with population of over 38 million residents is California. Wyoming is the least populous state among the state in US with an estimated population of just above 58 million residents.


Alaska is the largest state in United States by area, encompassing 665,384 square miles (1,723,337 square kilometers), while by far the smallest is Rhode Island which only has 1,545 square miles (4,002 square kilometers).



Listed below is the list of the states in United States in alphabetical order, with their abbreviations and their capitals:

  1. AL Alabama – Montgomery
  2. AK Alaska – Juneau
  3. AZ Arizona – Phoenix
  4. AR Arkansas – Little Rock
  5. CA California – Sacramento
  6. CO Colorado – Denver
  7. CT Connecticut – Hartford
  8. DE Delaware – Dover
  9. FL Florida – Tallahassee
  10. GA Georgia – Atlanta
  11. HI Hawaii – Honolulu
  12. ID Idaho – Boise
  13. IL Illinois – Springfield
  14. IN Indiana – Indianapolis
  15. IA Iowa – Des Moines
  16. KS Kansas – Topeka
  17. KY Kentucky – Frankfort
  18. LA Louisiana – Baton Rouge
  19. ME Maine – Augusta
  20. MD Maryland – Annapolis
  21. MA Massachusetts – Boston
  22. MI Michigan – Lansing
  23. MN Minnesota – Saint Paul
  24. MS Mississippi – Jackson
  25. MO Missouri – Jefferson City
  26. MT Montana – Helena
  27. NE Nebraska – Lincoln
  28. NV Nevada – Carson City
  29. NH New Hampshire – Concord
  30. NJ New Jersey – Trenton
  31. NM New Mexico – Santa Fe
  32. NY New York – Albany
  33. NC North Carolina – Raleigh
  34. ND North Dakota – Bismarck
  35. OH Ohio – Columbus
  36. OK Oklahoma – Oklahoma City
  37. OR Oregon – Salem
  38. PA Pennsylvania – Harrisburg
  39. RI Rhode Island – Providence
  40. SC South Carolina – Columbia
  41. SD South Dakota – Pierre
  42. TN Tennessee – Nashville
  43. TX Texas – Austin
  44. UT Utah – Salt Lake City
  45. VT Vermont – Montpelier
  46. VA Virginia – Richmond
  47. WA Washington – Olympia
  48. WV West Virginia – Charleston
  49. WI Wisconsin – Madison
  50. WY Wyoming – Cheyenne


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s